The Student News Site of Conestoga High School



Democrats sweep 2019 school elections

By Evan Lu, Staff Reporter

Unofficial returns for the 2020 statewide elections on Nov. 5 have been announced. 

The Chester County government is controlled by the Democratic Party for the first time since the county’s founding in 1682. TESD school board members Roberta Hotinski, Michele Burger, Todd Kantorcyzk, and Mary Garrett Itin were reelected. However, incumbent Republican Katharine Murphy was replaced by Democrat Sue Tiede, while incumbent Republican Edward Sweeney was replaced by Democrat Stacy V Stone.

Additionally, Deb Ryan and Fredda Maddox became the first Democratic women to be elected District Attorney and Sheriff for Chester County, respectively. Democrats also secured the township supervisor positions in both the Tredyffrin and Easttown Townships. 

More to Discover
About the Contributor
Evan Lu, Co-Editor-in-Chief